Free Plants Are Great, Part 4

When I was at Kilbourne Grove a couple of weeks ago, I took these pictures, that is why the Black Eyed Susans are not yet in flower.

As I have mentioned in previous posts here, here and here,  I am lucky enough to receive the “unsalables” at the flower shop where I work. Sometimes they are not my favourite flower or colour, but I take them anyway.  My garden, when we moved in, was a “tabula rasa”, or blank slate. So I have a lot of ground to fill.

I placed these plants at the front of the house. There is a few large rocks sticking out of the soil and a blue spruce had been planted in the middle (not my favourite, I am still deciding if I should keep it or rip it out).  Around this I have planted:

 

gardenAug09 124

 

Sedum “Autumn Joy”,  zebra grass or Miscanthus sinensis ‘Zebrinus’   and the blackeyed susan,  Rudbeckia fulgida  ‘Goldstrum’.

Just before this picture was taken, the last of the yellow lilys (also from work) finished flowering.  That is all that is in this bed, except for a few yellow tulips that my Mum first brought me when we moved in.

 

gardenAug09 125

 

Do you like the special effect on the picture?  It was really easy, pick a rainy day and stand inside and take it from your window.

Leave a Reply

