To Yew, or not to Yew, that is the question

Our big project this weekend was planting a yew hedge.  All  of the hedges that we put in at Kilbourne Grove have been cedar, I think that it is white cedar, but it is what ever grows wild in southern Ontario.  The first ones that we planted were dug up on my brothers property in Durham, but as we got older and lazier, we started buying them bare root at the Keady market early in the spring. 

I have planted a privacy hedge along the property line on the south side of the garden and have also backed my linden trees with cedar in the Lime Walk, but I also wanted some different hedges as well.  I am going for evergreen as Owen Sound seems to be buried under snow for 5+ months of the year, and I like to see something when I look outside.

Loblaws had a clearance on their garden centre plants and I went and purchased 16 very small Hicks yews.  Everyone says not to plant yew, it grows so slowly, but I will not be living full time in this house for at least 10 years, so I have the time.  I am trying to get the “bones” of the design in, so they can grow while I live in Toronto.  Hopefully, by the time I move to Owen Sound, they will have put on a lot of growth.

gardenjuly09 033

 It is very important to get them in a straight line, fortunately, I was not the one doing that (I have problems with straight lines). That is why I turned to Ian and whined, “you only have to set up the string for me, I can do the rest”.  Of course, I had my fingers crossed at the time. ( He dug the holes for me too.)  Good thing that I got him to do that, I never would have thought to measure it to the house to keep it in line.

gardenjuly09 037

 

I do not know where all the bricks came from on our property, but it seems everytime I dig a hole near the south property line, I unearth bricks. They even come in handy. Since I like a formal. linear garden, I use them to out line all the beds first, this also allows me to raise the planting level slightly.  I lay newspaper between the plants to smother the grass, rather then digging it all up.  Then cover it with topsoil and mulch.

 

gardenjuly09 039

 

You can see the finished hedge here and just in the background, the hedge on the other side of what will be a garden room. I have not decided what I will use this for yet, but while I do, the hedges will grow and enclose the space.  This will give us three hedges, 2 yew and one cedar, between us and  the house behind us, hopefully this will give us the illusion that we are completely private.

 

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    miss m said,

    Rooms are so important ! North Americans don’t get that. They just landscape around the yard. Of course, most North Americans (including meself) don’t have 3/4 acres to work with. Still, they probably wouldn’t. It’s gonna look great !

    • 2

      Miss M, I have always divided every garden I have had into rooms. Even the one that was 20 feet x 90 feet, and that had a house on it as well. It makes the whole garden look larger, when you cannot see it all at once (or at least a portion is hidden).


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

