Floral Fantasy: White

Who doesn’t love white? Especially in flowers. Always elegant and classic, it is certainly the most requested colour scheme not only for weddings, but also for most design work. And throw in some chartreuse, yummy! I would always advise customers at the flower shop when they were not sure of a colour for a gift arrangment, to go white.

As a neutral, it is suitable for any home, and people have much stronger opinions about colour, white is certainly a safe choice. My friend happens to love white and green, smart woman, so when I was visiting her in Toronto, it was off to pick up some white and green flowers to prepare an arrangement for her coffee table.

I have already showed you the hydrangea arrangement we made for her front hall, and we had some extra Limelights left and more hostas, so we lined this vase as well.  I love lining vases, when I worked at Kenneth Turner, all our clear vases were lined, we used to use a flower frog made out of chicken wire to hold the flowers in place. But when I worked at Black Eyed Susan’s, we taped a grid on the vase after lining it, much easier on the hands.

Grouping flowers is the big trend in the floral design world now, so I added my hydrangea in two groups of two. When you are grouping larger flowers it is not as important to add them in odd numbers, however I would never put just two roses together, so they were added in groups of 5 and 7. 

Commercial chrysanthemums and alstromeria completed the  white flowers, while green hypericum berries brought in a fresh shot of green.

And that green Wasabi coleus, talk about yummy, I loved it, and it was cut fresh from the garden. Perhaps a bit too fresh perhaps.

The next morning we found small puddles of water on the surface of the tray and could not figure out where they came from. Imagine our surprise, when we discovered new ones later that day. How was this happening?

Looking a bit more closely at the arrangement we discovered this.

I have been a floral designer for over twenty years, and had never seen this before. Has it happened to you?

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    paulinemulligan said,

    Love green and white arrangements, they go with any colour scheme in your house. How do the hosta leaves take to being submerged in the water, I always remove leaves from stems as I thought they just made the water go smelly! Have I been wrong all these years!

    • 2

      Pauline they do eventually go, but you know how thick hosta leaves are now, they can take a lot longer time period then a thin leaf. And you should remove leaves below the water line. They rot fast as they are usually small thin leaves. But I would throw this arrangement all out within five days, only reserving any flowers that still looked good and using another vase.

  2. 3

    Your arrangements are always so well done. I really like the way you use foliage especially. I have never had water drip on the table like that. Interesting, I wonder what caused it?

  3. 7

    mmm that is the sort of arrangement I remember from you, but before they were always in a rush at work. This one we can both enjoy! My Chasmanthe are dripping, but that is nectar.

  4. 9

    Marguerite said,

    You have such a remarkable eye for flower arrangements, this is a real beauty. I too wondered about submerging leaves, I’ve seen it done before but thought the arrangement would only last a day or two before the submerged leaves began to rot. Love the edges of the coleus but wondering as well where in the world the water is coming from.

    • 10

      Marguerite, thin tiny leaves like on a phlox would rot quickly. I only use leaves that are heavy and thick, like the hostas that are available now, they are almost like corrugated cardboard. They do not rot quickly, and most florists recommend disposing of an arrangement after five days. I thnk the water is coming from the coleus, but not sure why.

  5. 11

    […] I am designing I always add in my largest flower first, when I designed this white arrangement it was the hydrangea, this time I started with the cabbage. After we have a bit more cold weather, […]

  6. 12

    […] Trying to keep up my design skills, despite not working for two years. […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment