Fritillaria Fever

I got the fever, FEVER!!!!

Fritillaria fever that is.  I feel like I must have a huge drift of them, a lovely meadow, like the one in Hyde Park that I would walk by, every day on my way to work.  I know that you have heard this before, my obsession with drifts of bulbs. Snowdrops, crocus, Scilla, it never ends, but luckily, (or unluckily enough for Ian’s wallet), I have the room. I can have a drift of bulbs, (one variety only at a time for more visual impact), in every corner of my garden.

Here is the start of the Fritillaria meadow.

May it only get larger!

21 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    lynne said,

    I’ve never grown these before and I had no idea they grew so tall. I may have to investigate this further ;-)

  2. 3

    They are so beautiful, lucky you having a meadow to grow them in. I make do with a corner of my woodland where they seem quite happy. I started out with just 50 bulbs ( they are very cheap here) and then just sprinkle the seed when it is ready. I must have hundreds now and some have come up white. You will only need to be patient for 2 or 3 years then you will have your longed for drift !!!

  3. 5

    Now that would be my heaven! The only live fritillary I’ve seen, was growing in a cage, at London Zoo.

  4. 7

    ricki said,

    The checkered lilies are fabulous, but what I really long for is F persica…it comes up every year, but never blooms. F. uva vulpa, same story. Guess I will just keep trying different locations. Your maleagres is lovely in the grass like that.

  5. 9

    I had a similar affliction this spring when I found my first wild fritillaria growing on the property. Such mesmerizing little blooms. I love them!

  6. 11

    We grow some too, we find they do not like drying out in the summer…

  7. 13

    Shyrlene said,

    What a wonderful bloom! Just lovely…

  8. 15

    teza said,

    D:
    They are a wonderful addition are they not, and always seem to bring a smile to my face when I come across them. Do not have any as of yet, but you make it all very tempting indeed!

  9. 17

    I got that fever too. Mm – hm! Prettiest little complicated little flower I ever did see.

  10. 19

    mossandivy said,

    Love the Frits! I need a lawn full of them too. Unfortunately, I fear the heavy clay/poor drainage would do them in.
    -Susan


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

