Who am I?

I was sitting on our porch last weekend , staring into space and daydreaming about what else I would like to accomplish at Kilbourne Grove.  As I idly glanced around, I noticed, way, way up high a flash of something white.  It was in a very overgrown cedar tree, and I wondered if a plastic bag had blown into it.  I groaned, it had to be 20 feet in the air, there was no way I would be able to get it down, and I would have to look at it all the time!!!

I walked over for a closer look and guess what I saw?

 

At first, I thought that the neighbour on the other side of the cedar had a silver lace vine in their garden, and it had escaped, as the flowers look very similar.

But when I looked more closely, I could see a pale green stem twining through the cedar with maple leaf-shaped leaves on it. 

It certainly is beautiful, and very unexpected, a little garden magic entering my garden. 

 

Do you know who I am?

32 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Edith Hope said,

    Dearest D, With all the deep contemplation and philosophising on your porch about the very essence of life, I thought that your question was going to be unanswerable. I then ‘clicked to enlarge’ and I now realise that perhaps I am better equipped to say something about the meaning of life rather than identify your climber. I really cannot tell what it is!!

    However, I wish you a peaceful and relaxing weekend daydreamig, with perhaps a glass of wine, at Kilbourne Grove.

  2. 3

    I think, well, could it be, maybe? I’m an idiot, remember, but to my untrained eye, it looks rather like a plant of some sort.

  3. 5

    What a beautiful surprise, I am very interested to know what it is. Hopefully one of your blog followers who is more clever and educated than I, will be able to enlighten us!

  4. 7

    PatioPatch said,

    Hi Deborah – reassuring to know you do sit and rest sometimes as you are so industrious at KG. Let me guess – it’s not the ubiquitous Russian vine nor the flowers of Cordyline. Wild guess – wild clematis or Old Man’s beard. And definitely not a plastic bag. Will be back to look for the answer to your existential question.

    Laura

  5. 9

    Valerie said,

    I see a similar looking vine in my wildflowers book. It could be the Bur Cucumber vine or Echinocystis lobata. If the leaves look more lke a maple it could be Star Cucumber Sicyas angulatus. Nice treat to see all thos pretty flowers so high up.

  6. 11

    chen said,

    Must be the prettiest ‘plastic bag’ I have ever seen. It does look similar to Echinocystis lobata.

  7. 13

    debsgarden said,

    It is beautiful! Lets hope it’s not a weed that will soon strangle all the trees in your garden. Oops, sorry. You live in Canada, and I doubt any of those things grow up there.

  8. 15

    Wendy said,

    wow – really pretty blooms! Hope it stays under control!

  9. 17

    catmint said,

    I love a mystery. Could it be some kind of mistletoe? Garden magic seems to happen whenever something unplanned and unexpected happens.

  10. 19

    i have no idea, but it does put me in mind of a wild clematis. It is very pretty with its bright maple leaves whatever it turns out to be!

  11. 21

    thevioletfern said,

    What is it, huh? Huh? I can’t wait to find out! It’s beautiful and nothing beats a surprise plant in the garden!

  12. 23

    I love unexpected surprise in the garden. Best when you are not looking for it.

    • 24

      Isn’t it great, I especially love it when squirrels bring bulbs from my neightbours garden, I have got some great plants that way. Actually one of my neighbours has a nice clump of autumn crocus, better get some of those squirrels trained, lol.

  13. 25

    teza said,

    D:
    I agree that it is Echinocystis lobata, the cucumber vine. Pretty though it is, she is mighty invasive!

  14. 27

    Dear Deborah, goodness i spend most of my time trying to work out who i am, and now you are asking me to tell you who you are? life is a sweet mystery…lol

  15. 29

    Racquel said,

    Looks like a few people were able to suggest some possible ids. Hope it’s not a thug that’s for sure. :)

  16. 31

    Kathleen said,

    I had to click on this post to see what the vine was! It is pretty. Good thing you were “reflecting” too else you might have missed it, right?!
    Your cyclamen are sure a pretty sight too. I have toyed with adding a few in my small garden but haven’t made the leap yet. I hope you do have masses of them ~ it would look spectacular.
    I also like your blood grass. I ordered some last spring but I planted it in the wrong spot or something because it never took off and eventually died. Seeing yours makes me want to try again.
    Hope you’ve been having a good summer.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 230 other followers

