Le Divorce

My husband wants a divorce. “Why”, you ask.  Did you have an affair, develop a gambling problem, or buy too many plants?   “No”, I say, “It is because of this”.

Notice anything?

What if you compare it to this photo? YES, it is a 12 foot post!!!!!

Here are a lot more 12 foot poles.

Is that more poles? Why yes, it is! Ten of them to be exact.

I dd not realize that there is nothing in the marriage vows about setting 12 foot poles in the ground, I thought they were standard, lol.

We  I mean I am now ready to think about pleaching my lindens. There does not seem to be a lot of information about it online, but from what I can find, two main methods. In one, you take bamboo canes and tie them to the tree and each other to run horizontally from tree to tree. Another method recommends running a wire between poles and tieing the branches to the wire. This method is exactly how my father trained the grape vines at the family farm, so I am going with this method. You have to have the room to put poles in, (and you have to get poles) and I do. Being the cheap thrifty Scot I am, I got my poles free! My fathers neighbour has hundreds of young cedars in his forest and he let my father have some when he was thining them out. Since I am not cementing them into the ground (they will be removed later) cedar is a good choice as it is rot resistant. So the poles are now up and my next step is to run a wire between poles at the six foot mark for my first tier of branches.

Now look at the view in the above picture, it is towards the Flora Glade. Something about framing a view (even though the trees have not even grown yet), it just makes the project feel like something is happening.

This is the second path out of the Lime Walk, it is towards the Kitchen Garden. I had a bit of a dilemma with this one, the poles are a bit of a pain to put up, and I only have one tree on the south side of the path to train. It seemed to be overkill to give it two poles by itself, so I am running the wire across the path. It will be marked with ribbon so no one walks into it (and I certainly do not have to worry, lol).

I would show you the view in the other direction, but there is nothing to see folks, nothing but lawn!

 

By the way, the tree that was in the path of the Lime Walk, we dug this out as well! You can see the tree in the first picture.

Now I have to be very nice to Ian he deserves it!

 

 

40 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    gardeningasylum said,

    Oh dear, your title made my heart turn over! All those 12 footers – you should be very nice indeed – can’t wait to see more reports on your pleaching progress.

  2. 3

    Can’t say I blame him – lol. This looks like it was a huge project. But will be well worth it once the lindens grow in. You have such great vision to “see” things down the road when things are more mature.

    • 4

      Thanks Heather. Just putting the poles up really helped me see it. I was actually surprised just how high the lindens will grow, hopefully it won’t be too scary to prune them.

  3. 5

    Valerie said,

    All looks austere at the moment but I am sure it will be great when the trees grow and it begins to make sense.

  4. 7

    Laurrie said,

    This really is a major undertaking. I will be following it eagerly as the whole concept emerges and starts to fulfill your plans. You have such a vision. And you have such a wonderful husband to install all those poles!

  5. 9

    Gilly said,

    Give him a large drink, cook his favorite meal, be nice to him for a whole day, tell him how much you appreciate all his efforts and if he’s stlll moaning 24 hours later tell him to stop whining it was only a few bits of sticks!!!!
    Can’t think why my partner doesn’t want to marry me, can you?

    PS it is going to look great in a few years.

  6. 11

    Barbara H. said,

    Well, planting the poles was quite a task in and of itself. I can’t even imagine putting up the wires! He deserves the male equivalent of a spa day – whatever that is. Good job! Loved seeing the framed view, too.

  7. 13

    Kyna said,

    “pleaching my lindens”

    I have so many comments about that, I don’t know where to start. All I can say is good luck? LOL

    • 14

      Pleaching is not something you ever see in Canada, or probably the States as well. But I found it very common when we lived in England and I wanted to try it. Thanks for the wish, I will need a lot of luck.

  8. 15

    Sandra Jonas said,

    I think the poles give some ‘weight’ to the planting since the trees are so young. Looks very good to me. I admire your tenacity. This will be fabulous when it grows up.
    Give Ian a special day with all his favorites… He will, after all, be required to DO MORE!
    Good call btw, elongating the Lime Walk.

    • 16

      Thanks Sandra, I wish that I could make it even longer but there is no more room. The poles really helped me visualize where I will be able to see into the next garden and where it will be hidden. That is going to help me design the rest of it.

  9. 17

    Looked at your title, and thought, don’t want to read that. Relieved that you are staying together ;-)

  10. 19

    Turling said,

    What the hell are lindens? And, what’s pleaching?

    • 20

      Lindens are the common name for Tilias, they are also called lime trees in England, very confusing. Pleaching is a pruning technique, it will basically look like a clipped hedge on sticks.

  11. 21

    Joanne said,

    What a gem of a husband treat him nicely.

    I look forward to seeing the lime walk

  12. 23

    Oh, I love a good Linden pleaching. I think setting poles are just implied in the vows :P I really can’t wait to see all this when the trees are more mature!

  13. 25

    Jean said,

    Deborah, This is an amazing process. I look forward to seeing the results. As someone who does a lot of my garden work alone, I can’t even imagine trying to set 12′ posts! When I put in the fence for my fence border, I had three 6′ posts to set. After doing the first one myself, I promptly hired a local contractor to come and do the other two and install the fence panels. I didn’t think for a minute that you were really getting divorced, but after reading your post, I think I would be sympathetic to Ian if it were true. He’s got to be a strong contender for the garden hubby of the year award!

    • 26

      Jean, we hit rocks and tree roots in every hole. We do not want to cement them in as they will be removed down the road, so tried to make the hole as narrow as possible, to leave the soil undisturbed. Ian got a very long back rub, and lots of sympathy!

  14. 27

    Ian needs pampered Deborah after all of that! Thats a wonderful job you’ve done – alot of effort in the past week will pay dividends in the future.

    In regards to your previous post – my forest pansy has burgundy leaves rather than green ones – with just the tiniest bit of die back on one branch. Some of the leaves are about the size of the palm of my hand just now. :) Rosie

  15. 29

    Debbie said,

    Wow, what a project, on so many levels. I can’t wait to follow along with the progress. BTW, The Pruning Book by Lee Reich has a few pages about pleaching in it. If you don’t have a copy and would like the pages just let me know and I’ll get copies to you.

    • 30

      Thanks Debbie, it is quite a large project, but I am very excited about it. Just putting up the poles helped me “see” it better, I can see the scale much more clearly now.
      If you could send me those pages, it would be fab, I will e-mail you.

  16. 31

    teza said,

    Dearest D:
    Isn’t there something to be said for a guy with…. how long is the pole! [Aw, come on, someone had to mention it!] Definitely deserves pamperiing in a truly masculine sense if such a thing exists. You truly are a visionary! Tomorrow is never a boring day at KG!

  17. 33

    debsgarden said,

    I am so glad you are not REALLY getting a divorce! My heart skipped a few beats there. Yes, treat Ian nicely, but remind him too that all this work helps to stimulate endorphins and also build muscles and thus preserve a youthful appearance! So it’s all for his benefit. I am enjoying watching the progress of your garden. This will be fabulous!

    • 34

      Sorry Deborah for scaring you. A couple other readers commented on that, I never thought any one would take it seriously, I will have to be more careful next time. Good call on appealing to Ians vanity, that will definitely work.

  18. 35

    My heart also skipped a few beats, I’m glad your title was not serious. What a lot of work, and I am so looking forward to the results. You are so ambitious with your projects!! It will pay off in spades (I think that’s proper use of the expression…)

  19. 37

    Let him go. There’s plenty more out there. You pleach away, all you want.

    I don’t know what pleaching is, but fill your boots if it makes you happy.

  20. 39

    Catharine said,

    Hello Kilbourne Grove I am checking in to your blog to thank you v much for the Fave. I am looking with interest with what you have here – love the sculptures and plants. Also have serious affinity for all things Canadian as spent my first three years of school in your country, in Montreal. Long to return!

    • 40

      Hi Catharine, thank you for coming and visiting my blog in return. Luck you to live in Montreal for three years, such a fabulous city. Do come back to Canada, Toronto is interesting as well.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

