Architectural Salvage

OK., Maybe not architectural, but definitely salvage.

When my dad bought his new house there was a tv tower high up in the sky. there was also a satellite dish and no one had bothered to take down the tower.  I looked at the x’s on the side and thought that they were quite pretty. Then I had my brainwave (and let me tell you, that thing hurt!).

My dad and brother took it down, it was bolted together in 8 foot section, so there were four of them. My dad thinks that I am pretty brilliant (what parent doesn’t) after he heard my idea, and if I was going to do it, he was going to as well, so he kept two.

We took  the other two home to Kilbourne Grove and Ian painted them and the grass as well) a bright blue with Tremclad paint.

 

One we made the centre of the Kitchen Garden, this one has a variegated porcelain vine planted on it. I love it when the berries have coloured up in the fall, some are almost the same colour as the tower. However it is lovely in the summer as well, the green and white leaves and pink stems really stand out against the blue.

gardenAug09 049

Centrepiece of the Kitchen Garden

Centrepiece of the Kitchen Garden

 Please ignore the grass, I really hate to edge these wooden beds, that is why I am planning on getting rid of the grass. I also feel it is a waste of valuable gardening time cutting the grass every weekend, when I could be accomplishing so much more.

 

 The other we put up in the  Flora Glade. It is basically a roundabout in the Glade, with paths going off in three directions. At the moment the roundabout is looking very open and spacious, but I am hoping that over the years as the trees and shrubs fill in, it will look more mysterious. You can also see how much grass I still have to remove.  This has a hot pink Felix LeClerc rose that my friends at work gave me for my birthday.

gardenAug09 038

and here is a close up

gardenAug09 040

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Racquel said,

    I love your TV Antenna towers turned garden trellises. I have one in my own garden that was part of a huge one from our house when we moved in. I wish I had kept a taller bit of it though. My section is only about 4′ tall. That rose contrasts nicely with the blue. :)

    • 2

      I love the colour in the garden. The tower in the Kitchen garden, we put up last fall. It was great to look out all winter and see that spot of colour. The other was just “planted”. You can still see the paint spray on the grass. I am not finished my “roundabout” yet. Once I am, it will be a nice centerpiece. Thanks for all your nice comments.

  2. 3

    Jamie said,

    Deborah,

    What an ingenious and inspirational idea for the garden! Isn’t it fascinating how sometimes the most inopportune objects can add such interest in one’s garden? Great idea and great post! I love how the color of your rose stands out in such stark contrast to the blue paint.

    Also, thank you so much for stopping by our blog and leaving such generous comments about the transformation we’ve given “Our Eden”.

  3. 4

    Thank you for your kind words, Jamie, and coming to my blog.

    I was really happy with the way the tv towers turned out, although I would have liked them bigger, I’m a bit of a size queen!

  4. 5

    fairegarden said,

    Oh my goodness, Deborah! I had wondered about the blue tower, thanks for explaining its providence. That color of blue is the best! It really sets off the pink rose nicely. I agree with you, grass takes up precious gardening time with its high maintenance agreement. :-)
    Frances

    • 6

      I long for the day, when most of the grass is gone, especially with 3 1/2 hours wasted, after cutting it on the weekend. You will be happy to hear that I removed another 240 square feet over the holiday.

  5. 7

    That is super clever and I really like the bright blue color. Now let me go find one as I’ve seen lots of them being thrown away. The era of CB radios is going out of style. Lots of people throwing these away. I bet they won’t be hard to find at salvage yards.

  6. 8

    Anna, I think these would be super easy to find, nobody uses them anymore (thank you world of satellite). Even my dad, (who is an old farmer and thinks that I am slightly crazy sometimes) put up a piece of his, next to his garage. He is training a vine to grow up through it and then cover his garage.

  7. 9

    puppyparents said,

    Looks gorgeous! Love the contrast of the rose with the blue tower! Some nice coworkers you have!

  8. 10

    I have the best coworkers a girl can have! Especially this one beauty, she encouraged me to start my own blog (well, it least she didn’t laugh at me!)

  9. 11

    Chloe West said,

    I have a porcelainberry vine on my garage… in three years you will have to try to find the blue trellis… they are fast growers… Love the rose… ahhhhh I long for sun!

  10. 12

    I will probably cut it back hard if it starts to swamp the trellis. I think that they berry on old wood (will have to look that up), and it grows fast. I like the kind of see through look it has now.
    I don’t have that much sun, the driveway seems to be the sunniest spot in the whole garden. Many, many old and big trees, we back onto a forest. The rose got a prime spot.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

